Why I became an extrovert…

To me, nothing sounds more enjoyable or relaxing than hiding under my covers all day. Alone.

I am an introvert.

People make me nervous. My anxiety used to flare up causing me to have panic attacks and hyperventilating to the point of sobbing and the inability to breath.

I am an introvert.

 

But you would never be able to tell if you looked at my life now. I am an introvert, who forced myself to become an extrovert. It all started with my job choice. I knew that people scared me. Specifically, that talking to people I didn’t know scared me. So I became a waitress. Why not? Oh, I don’t know – because if you screw up people yell at you. I am an introvert, so I became a waitress, where I was forced to make conversations with strangers if I wanted to make a living. I became a damn good server too, because people yelling at me was not my idea of a good day.

I learned the power of networking, and that life is more about who you know, less about what you know. Though, when  you meet who you should know, it helps to know stuff worth knowing.

So I began networking with anybody and everybody I could. I volunteer to do as much stuff as I can, because you never know who you will meet! Boy, oh, boy – Have I met some awesome people. And I am just beginning.

So, if you look at my life and think – I want to do that too! Then get out there, and do it! Talk to people, meet people, volunteer, and go where people go.

You know where you won’t meet new people? In bed. Under the covers. If you do meet new people, randomly in bed, under the covers… You are not an introvert.

Talking to people still can drain me of energy. As a matter of fact, if I disappear for a day or two.. It’s because I am still an introvert, and hiding under the covers with a good book and a nap bring me right back to that bubbly extrovert you all have grown accustom to.

 

About ashleekarin

Every Sunday I tried to post updates since I succeed in camping the doorstep of the world during a 110 day road trip around the USA; The Roadside Bears blog was then brought head first into the internet world (changed to ashleekarin.wordpress.com). Included are the details of our adventures and how we are doing, as well as tips on how we made a road trip around the USA happen. It’s important to pursue your dreams to the end, even if you end up with nothing. After all, you only have one life to live; go big or go home. Join me vicariously through this blog – AshleeKarin.wordpress.com – and experience the adventure of my life. Viewer discretion is advised, as you will most likely witness a very hungry person freezing as they sleep in their car. I will always be planning the next great adventure – so don’t miss out, subscribe to the blog today! XoxO (big kiss little hug little kiss big hug ), Ashlee Karin

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Home Front and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. WOW!!! You are so me!!! Well said!!! And although I was never a waitress, I did push myself to network and meet new people. Twenty years of networking and I still make myself meet someone new every day. It helps but I do admit that I still love a great cup of coffee, a good novel and an empty quiet house to read it in. Cheers to us closet introverts!!! 🙂

  2. I can see lot of myself in what you wrote, very genuine

Leave a Reply

